top of page

Intimidating Blank Space

It's funny how a blank page can feel incredibly intimidating to a writer or artist. There's nothing inherently dangerous about that empty space. I've never once heard that someone died from staring at a blank page. If you have, please leave the info in the comments down below. Unless that's too morbid. Is that too morbid? I really don't have a good grasp on proper decorum in this situation. Yet, it seems to stare me down. Eyeless stare downs are the creepiest.


What if nothing I say is relevant? Possible. What if I misspell everything? Incredibly probable. Even with spell check, I have a creative knack for misspelling words in that special way where the computer gives up trying to help. What if the world explodes just as I've finally written that epic and meaningful line of prose? Normally I would say less possible, but after surviving through 2020 who's to say?






This is usually the point where I treat my anxious mind like a frightened little squirrel. That's right, I go out and eat birdseed...wait, no that's not it. I take things one careful bit at a time. All I have to do is write for 5 minutes. Just five. I easily can spend/waste more time than 5 minutes on Instagram, so it's usually an easy sell.


When that doesn't work, I tell myself it's all just for fun. No one is going to ever look at or read the thing I'm making. There's no way I can mess it up, because I'm just messing around. It's pretty easy to convince myself of this one. With all the tv, movies, you tube videos, gifs, books, articles, ect. there's already so much content vying for everyone's attention. The only real danger of overthrowing this idea is if I share the link with my mom. I love you mom


What about you? Do you ever feel intimidated by a blank page or canvas? If so, what kinds of things do you use to get over that initial hurtle? Please share your ideas in the comments down below. Or at least think about them really hard-that's good too.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2023 by ODAM LVIRAN. Proudly created with Wix.com.

  • facebook-square
  • Twitter Square
bottom of page